Texas Auto Insurance : Liability, TexasSure, TAIPA, TDI

Texas Auto Insurance Requirements

Texas requires that you have the ability to pay for any damages and injuries caused by you in a car accident.

Most people buy the civil liability insurance to comply with this law.

car insurance
Need insurance?

If you choose to buy civil liability insurance to comply with the law, your policy must have the following minimum limits:

  • $ 30,000 per injured person.
  • $ 60,000 per incident injury.
  • $ 25,000 for property damage.

Did you know that in Texas you could get a discount on your auto insurance just by taking an alcohol and drug awareness course?

Please, learn more about Texas car insurance laws, quotes, and programs.

The Most Stolen Cars in Texas

If your car is a frequent target for theft, you could pay a little more for your auto insurance.

According to www.nicb.org, the following is a list of the most commonly stolen vehicles in Texas in 2013:

  • Ford Pickup (Large).
  • Pickup Chevrolet (Large Size).
  • Pickup Dodge (Large).
  • Honda Accord.
  • Honda Civic.
  • Pickup GMC (Large Size).
  • Chevrolet Tahoe.
  • Toyota Camry.
  • Chevrolet Impala.
  • Ford Explorer.

Get a car insurance quote today and see how much you can save.

Other auto insurance

Texas only requires you to have liability insurance, but there are other types of auto insurance coverage options available to help protect you financially, which include:

  • For crashes – This will cover the damage to your car after an accident with other cars.
  • For All Risks – This will cover damages that could happen to your car after an incident that does not involve a car accident. For example, if the hail abolishes your car, you could be covered with all-risk coverage.
  • From Uninsured or Underinsured Drivers – The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) has established that about 20% of current TX drivers are uninsured. This coverage can help protect you from damage caused by these drivers.
  • Towing and labor.

NOTE: If your car is being financed, your lender or the leasing company will require you to have collision and all-risk coverage for your car.

Auto Insurance Alternatives

Buying liability insurance is the most common way to cover your financial responsibility, but there are other options:

A surety bond for two guarantors who own property in Texas, with the same liability insurance coverage limitations.

  •  $ 55,000 in cash or securities/securities deposited with the State Controller.
  •  $ 55,000 in cash or cashier’s check deposited with the county judge where the car is registered.
  •  Your own insurance certificate – for this you must have a fleet of 25 or more cars to qualify for this option.

Texas Proof of Insurance

Your insurance company will give you the insurance identification card that can be used as proof of your insurance.
You must show proof of insurance when:
  •   A police officer asks you.
  •  You have a car accident.
  •  Register or renew your car registration.
  •  Request or renew your driver’s license.
  •  Do the inspection of your car.
Your insurance provider should provide you with a new insurance card each time you renew your auto insurance policy.Most insurance companies give a minimum term of 6 months for a policy.

TexasSure

TexasSure is a program that helps several Texas government agencies verify electronically if you have auto insurance.

Among the agencies that TexasSure uses are:

  • The Texas Department of Public Safety.
  • The sheriffs and police departments.
  • Vehicle registration offices.
If there are issues related to your Texas auto insurance information, you will receive one of the following notifications:
  • Notice of Discrepancy – According to the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI), less than 1% of insured drivers cannot be rigged with their TexasSure car registration. You will receive this notification if in your history you appear to have car insurance but it does not match your car.
  • Uninsured Notice – You will receive this notice if you have a registered vehicle but this vehicle has no insurance history.

Fines and penalties for violations

Violation of Texas auto insurance laws can bring severe consequences, including the following fines and penalties:
  •  For your first conviction:
    From $ 175 to $ 350 in fines
  • For additional convictions:
    $ 350 to $ 1,000 in fines.
    A possible suspension of your driver’s license.
    A possible confiscation of your car.

Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association

Drivers with a poor driving record could find it difficult to find car insurance.
If two (2) insurance companies have declined to insure you, you can purchase your auto insurance through the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA).To qualify for the TAIPA program, you must:

  • Have a valid driver’s license or be in the process of applying for one.
  • Live in Texas or have a car registered in Texas.
Make sure that two (2) insurance companies have turned you down in the last 60 days.
You do not have to have proof of insurance rejection, but you will need to sign an affidavit stating that two (2) insurance companies have turned down your insurance application.

The coverage of TAIPA

Through TAIPA, you will be covered by the required minimum liability coverage:
  • $ 2,500 for personal injury protection.
    An uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage:
  • $ 30,000 per personal injury.
  • $ 60,000 per incident injury.
  • $ 25,000 for property damage.

The payments

TAIPA only allows the purchase of annual policies; However, you have several options for making payments that include:
  • Pay your full premium in advance.
  • 8 installment payments – For this, you will need to pay an initial installment of whatever is greater: or 20% of your premium or $ 40.

To leave the TAIPA

If you have obtained auto insurance through TAIPA and have spent three (3) years without any auto accident or traffic violation, your insurance provider must take you out of the TAIPA program and offer you standard auto insurance at a higher rate low.

Help for your auto insurance complaints

The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) offers assistance with any complaints you may have about insurance companies, including your auto insurance provider.The most common complaints that the TDI helps solve are:

  • Disputes over benefits and claims.
  • False advertising.
  • The misrepresentation.
  • Suspected insurance fraud.
The TDI cannot help you with the following:
  • Determine who was at fault in a car accident.
  • Resolve disputes between your insurance provider and you when the only test is your word.
  • Forcing insurance companies to pay a claim dispute or make an exception to the rule when no insurance law was broken.
  • Give legal advice.
To learn more about how you can get assistance with your auto insurance claims, visit the TDI website.
Be careful and prudent will not only keep your auto insurance premiums up, but it will help you to find affordable car insurance right from the start.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: